You are currently viewing Happy New Year: Australia, New Zealand welcome 2024 with fireworks, celebrations

Happy New Year: Australia, New Zealand welcome 2024 with fireworks, celebrations

2023-12-31 11:23:01

Happy New Year! The Pacific nation of Kiribati has become the first country to celebrate New Year 2024. The country’s largest island, also known as Christmas Island, entered 2024 at 10:00 (GMT).

Kiribati, pronounced as Kiribass, consists of 33 atolls sprawling across an expansive region in the equatorial Pacific, stretching almost 4,000km from east to west and over 2,000km from north to south.

After Kiribati, New Zealand’s Auckland also welcomed the year 2024 at 11:00 (GMT) with a fireworks display from the Auckland Sky Tower and a light show over the city’s Harbour Bridge.

The tip of New Zealand’s tallest tower lit up in different colours as fireworks exploded in the sky.

Fireworks have also started in Australia as New Year’s Eve celebrations enter its final stage. In Australia, Sydney Harbor Bridge will become the focal point of the famous midnight fireworks display and light show which is expected to be viewed annually by around 425 million people worldwide.

Huge crowds are assembling in Sydney for one of the globe’s most breathtaking New Year’s fireworks exhibitions.

Following this, Tonga and Samoa will be the next to welcome the New Year, with millions of people expected to participate in festivities worldwide in the hours to come.

US will welcome New Year 2022 at 5 am (10.30 am IST). In New York’s Times Square authorities and event organizers express readiness to welcome and safeguard crowds of celebrants.

In France, which will embrace New Year at 11:00 pm GMT, security has been tightened with as many as law enforcement officers deployed, according to domestic intelligence chief Céline Berthon.

Published By:

Sahil Sinha

Published On:

Dec 31, 2023

new year 2024, new year 2024 celebrations, australia new year, new zealand new year 2024, happy new year 2024, Kiribati new year 2024, Australia new year time, india new year time

Source link