You are currently viewing Ranji Trophy: Prabhsimran, Abhishek Lead Punjab Fightback vs Karnataka

Ranji Trophy: Prabhsimran, Abhishek Lead Punjab Fightback vs Karnataka

2024-01-07 12:36:02

Prabhsimran Singh’s aggressive century helped Punjab find some late fight against Karnataka and post 238 for three in their second innings on the third day of the Elite Group C Ranji Trophy match in Hubballi, Karnataka on Sunday. Prabhsimran made an even hundred off 146 balls with 17 boundaries, and he received wonderful support from his opening partner Abhishek Sharma (91, 123 balls, 9×4,3×6). Prabhsimran and Sharma milked 192 runs in just 44.3 overs as Punjab wiped out a considerable chunk from the 362-run big first innings lead they conceded.

However, Punjab still trail by 124 runs. Earlier, Karnataka, resuming from their overnight 461 for 6, declared their first innings at 514 for eight.

Prabhsimran deserved wholesome praise for batting without fear in a crunch situation as he peppered the off-side region with powerful shots, making 62 runs through long-off, third man and point regions.

Gujarat in control

Fifties by Manan Hingrajia (52), Umang Kumar (89, 148 balls) and Ripal Patel (81, 71 balls) assisted Gujarat to post a daunting target of 299 against Tamil Nadu at Valsad.

Gujarat recovered from a shaky 38 for three to post a healthy 312 in their second innings.

In their second essay, TN have been reduced to 32 for two.

Meanwhile, no play was possible on the third day of the match between Chandigarh and Railways because of bad light.

Chandigarh were bundled out for 96 in their first innings at the Sector-16 Stadium, and Railways ended the second day on Saturday at 313 for 4.

Brief scores: At Hubballi: Punjab: 152 all out and 2nd innings: 238/3 in 68 overs (Prabhsimran Singh 100, Abhishek Sharma 91) vs Karnataka 514/8 declared in 140 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 193, Manish Pandey 118, S. Sharath 76; Arshdeep Singh 3/92).

At Valsad: Gujarat 236 all out & 2nd innings: 312 all out in 84 overs (Ripal Patel 81, Umang Kumar 89, Manan Hingrajia 52; Sai Kishore 4/53, Sandeep Warrier 3/51) vs Tamil Nadu 250 all out & 2nd innings: 32/2 in 15 overs.

At Agartala: Tripura: 484 all out & 2nd Innings: 151/5 declared in 33.4 overs (Bikram Kumar Das 45; Darshan Misal 3/48) vs Goa: 135 all out in 48.5 overs (Deepraj Gaonkar 41; AK Sarkar 4/24, Rana Datta 3/41, Mura Singh 3/40) & 2nd Innings: 48/3 in 20 overs.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article

cricket,prabhsimran singh,abhishek sharma ndtv sports

Source link